Here At Yoga Videos – We Like To Bring – The World Of Yoga Together

What Is Yoga?

Yoga, in Sanskrit, means to completely know yourself and to be at peace in yourself experiencing freedom from all suffering, freedom from doubt and freedom from confusion.

Read more

It Has Been Long Known That Practising Yoga Brings Great Benefits. What Are The Benefits Of Yoga?

A strong and flexible body, glowing beautiful skin, peaceful mind, good health, weight loss – just to name a few. Through uniting the body, mind and breath we are in harmony, which makes the journey through life calmer, happier and more fulfilling.

Read more

As There Are Many Different Types of Yoga We Have Concentrated On The More Popular Yoga Styles


Hatha Yoga

Hatha Yoga describes any of the physical practices of yoga or asanas, which presents only one of the eight limbs of yoga. Whether you do Iyengar or Ashtanga, it is all hatha yoga, which relates to the physical more forceful aspect of Yoga compared to the other more subtle practices that were in use at the time that hatha emerged. Today Hatha is most often used to describe gentle, basic classes with no flow between poses. A hatha class will likely be a slow-paced stretching class with some simple breathing exercises and perhaps seated meditation. A good place to become comfortable with yoga.

Ashtanga Yoga

Ashtanga means “eight limbs” in Sanskrit, which refers to the eight limbs of yoga laid out in the Yoga Sutras of Patanjali. TheAshtanga method of asana practice was interpreted by T. Krishnamacharya and Sri K. Pattabhi Jois from an ancient text called the Yoga Korunta. According to T. Krishnamacharya and Sri K. Pattabhi Jois the text described a unique system of hatha yoga developed by Vamana Rishi.

Power Yoga

Power yoga is a vigorous, fitness-based approach to vinyasa-styleyoga. Often also descibed as a “gym yoga,” Power Yoga was originally modeled on the Ashtanga  method, in an attempt to make Ashtanga yoga more accessible to western students. Unlike Ashtanga, power yoga emphasis on strength and flexibility and does not follow a set series of poses, hence classes can vary from teacher to teacher. Classes will most likely appeal to people who are already quite fit, enjoy exercising, and want a minimal amount of chanting and meditation with their yoga.

Power Yoga has been invented by two American yoga teachers  New York based Beryl Bender Birch and Los Angeles based Bryan Kest. Both had studied with Ashtanga master Sri K. Pattabhi Jois.

Vinyasa Yoga

Vinyasa yoga, sometimes also known as flow yoga movement is synchronized to the breath. The breath becomes an important component because the teacher will instruct you to move from one pose to the next on an inhale or an exhale. Vinyasa translated from Sanskrit  meaning “connection,” relates to the connection between movement and breath.

This style allows for a lot of variety, but will almost certainly include sun salutations. Ashtanga, Bikram and Power Yoga also follow  Vinyasa Styles.

Iyengar Yoga

One of the Most Popular Types of Yoga, this influential style emphasizes alignment and encourages the use of props such as wooden gadgets, belts, ropes (designed by B.K.S. Iyengar), which helps the practitioner to achieve perfection in any asana. Regular practice of ‘Iyengar Yoga’ definitely integrates the body, mind and emotions.


Bikram Yoga was started by Bikram Choudhury in 1974 in Beverly Hillsand is also called hot yoga, as you do the poses in a room heated up to 40 degress celsius.The most common Bikram class consists of 26 poses or asanas, tirteen are standing and 13 are sitting, with a couple breathing and resting poses. The asanas are.designed in a specific order to warm the tendons and create flexibility in the spine among numerous other benefits.

Bikram has been both accused and applauded for creating the MacDonald’s approach to yoga, in that if you attend a Bikram class, you will have the same experience no matter where you attend the class around the world.

Yin Yoga

Yin yoga is a less common form of yoga that focuses on deep stretches held for long periods of time with the emphasis to loosen up and balance the low back, hips and legs.

The challenge with yin yoga is that you hold stretches for a  longer time compared to a Vinyasa flow yoga class. Poses are held for several minutes at a time in order to the stretch the connective tissue around the joints. The most prominent advocate of this method is the American teacher Paul Grilley, who learned the basic technique from Taoist Yoga teacher and martial arts expert Paulie Zink. Grilley also studied with the Japanese Dr. Motoyama, who believes that our connective tissue may actually be the key to discovering subtle energy channels in the body (called nadis in yoga and meridians in Traditional Chinese Medicine). Sarah Powers, who studied with Paul Grilley, is another well-known teacher in this field.

In Chinese philosophy, the yin yang symbolizes the duality and interdependency of the natural world. Yang

In Chinese philosophy, the yin yang symbolizes the duality and interdependency of the natural world. Yang

In Chinese philosophy, the yin yang symbolizes the duality and interdependency of the natural world. Yang means moving, changing, and vigorous in contrast to yin which is still, static, and calm.

The majority of western yoga practices and are very yang orientated meaning a lot of movement, with an emphasis on stretching the muscles. Muscles are yang, while connective tissues like tendons and ligaments are yin. Sitting for meditation is more yin and as the joints in the pelvis, hips and lower spine are naturally much less flexible yin yoga primarily focuses on these areas.

Kundalini Yoga

In 1969, Yogi Bhajan founded the Healthy, Happy, Holy Organization (3HO) to bring this yoga practice to a broader population for everyone  to enjoy its benefits. It has not been practiced in the west before or even taught to the public.

The Kundalini, often symbolized as a snake coiled at the bottom of the spine, is an untapped energy (prana) at the base of the spine that can be drawn up through the body awakening each of the seven chakras. When this energy reaches the crown chakra at the top of the head full enlightenment occurs.

Kundalini is one of the more spiritual types of yoga and is not only about the physical performance of poses but focuses also on breathing, meditation, mudras and chanting.

Each asana series is done with a specific breathing technique intensifying the effects of the poses with the aim of freeing energy in the lower body and allowing it to move upwards. Kundalini sequences (kriyas) can consist of rapid, repetitive movements and a designated breathing method or holding a pose while breathing in a particular way.

Stock Photos & Images
%d bloggers like this: